MFM main site
October 22, 2018, 07:36:16 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Space Marines Vs The Green Tide  (Read 8556 times)
hairypig
Copper Member

« on: April 07, 2009, 07:51:06 PM »

Hello,

I am fairly new to 40k gaming and have only played a handfull of games. So any advice no matter how trivial would be brilliant. I play a small Ultramarines force comprosing of several Tactical Squads, Terminators, Assault Squads, Scout Squad and a Predator Tank.

I have still to assemble a Vindicator as well as a Devastator and Bike Squad.

Recently whenever my marines have faced the foul Ork menace they have most definatly come off worse for wear. The Orks appear on my side of the table (via truks) in no time at all and so suffer minimal casualties to shooting. They then throw out an unfeasble amount of high strength attacks, some of which negate my armour saves completley.

I have found Terminators to be near useless against them as they get completley outnumbered where as usually when I deep strike behind other armies units I muller them.

Would using drop pods help stake my claim in the game early on or would this be spreading my marines even thinner? All of this is clutching at straws really. Would any particular units or tactics prove especially effective?

Any words of wisdom would be appreciated,

Ant  Cheesy

If the English language made any sense, a catastrophe would be an apostrophe with fur.
Ego Ninja
Platinum Member

« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 07:56:38 PM »

I think your major Ork issue is the fact that you split your fire far to much, concentrate on a few units at a time (the ones with power klaws would help Wink)

The other issue youve always had with Orks is a lack of luck, you do roll alot of 1's  Wink

Darak Vardek
Silver Member

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 10:29:59 PM »